I’m Engaged, What?!

November 6, 2014 has taken the lead for best day of my life (so far). Why is that? Well, since you asked–you didn’t, but I’m going to tell you anyway–it’s the day the Man-Friend asked me to marry him. Cue the waterworks, literally and figuratively(ish).I am genuinely surprised he managed to keep it a secret when and where he was going to propose–he’s usually awful at keeping secrets. I have to hand it to him there was a split second during the drive there I thought he might ask me, but I pushed it aside.

The plan was to take his sister to a the waterfall that kind of kicked off our friendship–long story short I fell into the creek in front of him and several other people, ruined my phone, and was completely soaked, BUT it was something to talk about and that’s how we originally started talking as friends. When we got to the falls there were a couple people hanging around–a.k.a. really creepy hillbilly types–, but they soon disappeared into the treeline, as weird mountain people are wont to do. [I’m sure they were actually really nice people, I’m just being overly dramatic for the added flair] I decided to look for arrowheads or other cool rocks, because why not, right? He pointed out a spot, awkwardly I might add, and said I should look here. As I walked over he got down on one knee and asked if I would marry him. His sister captured the whole thing, and gave me the biggest hug ever. We were both teary-eyed and all smiles.

We did have a small audience which made him a bit nervous and rushed. It also made it super awkward for the both of us since we’re both hermits. They congratulated both of us as we were trying to make a quick exit, which was sweet of them, but just made it that much more awkward for us–we really need to get out of the house more.

Needless to say, I’ve been on cloud nine since then, although the fact that I have to plan two ceremonies, one in Germany and one in Georgia, and still take classes is a bit rattling. I’m a little stressed, but the real stress hasn’t hit quite yet. Once I actually get into the planning I’m sure I’ll come crashing back down to reality and go through stages of crippling anxiety, stress, worry, nervousness, and many other emotions. Until then I’m going to ride my cloud nine high. I’m having a difficult time actually accepting that I’m going to marry such a wonderful man. It just doesn’t feel real yet. Also, I now have a valid reason to find a new “call sign” for the Man-Friend–if that name wasn’t a good enough reason to begin with. He suggested “the Big Cheese,” but no, just no. I’ll find something suitable eventually.

Leave a Reply

