Get to know HB: an interview

So do you want to introduce yourself?

HB: No, I don’t think so

Okay…I guess I’ll introduce you for you…

HB is in his twenties. He’s originally from Bavaria, but relocated to the U.S. for university. He likes long walks on the beach, candle lit dinners, and a nice romantic comedy. (I mean he likes those things, but I kind of blanked on what else to say in his introduction.) On to the interview.

What did you think of me when we first met? What about now?

I thought that you were cute and friendly, but the group atmosphere with your friends was weird. That sounds like your friends were weird. I mean to me as an outsider it felt weird.

Now I think that you’re awesome, duh!

What are your favorite places you’ve ever visited and why?

Green Turtle Lodge in Ghana because it’s awesome as fuck. My mom’s birthplace because it was interesting to see where my family is from. Oma’s house, the reason should be obvious.

What is the most annoying thing I do?

Your martyr complex, especially when it comes to food.

What is the most amusing thing I do?

When you think you’re funny. (I resent that! I’m always hilarious!)

What do you love most about being German? What about being American?

My sense of humor, sense of fashion, sense of rhythm, and my taste in good food. On a serious note: the fact that I can live and travel anywhere in Europe I want.

That I’m humble (HA!) and the  opposite of lazy, a.k.a. an American. Seriously though, it’s the opportunities.

What is your favorite city?

In the world? Yeah. To visit or live in? Visit. So far I’d have to say Moscow. I did like Moscow.

What talent do you want but don’t have?

I was thinking about singing but I think I’d rather be able to play the pee-annie (piano).

Describe your outlook on life in six words.

Nurture over nature. Mind over matter.

What is a funny story from your childhood?

I fell into the duck pond. It’s become a family right of passage.

I was little and trying to play with the ducks and I kept getting closer to the pond. Opa kept saying don’t get too close, don’t get too close, but I got too close and fell in. It’s a poop and algae filled pond. It’s disgusting.

If you could live in another time which one would it be and why?

My answer is: While I find numerous time periods interesting and fascinating (for example the wild west, middle ages, pirates, etc.). I wouldn’t want to live in any other age due to the technological advances we have today, specifically healthcare. If anything I’d want to live further in the future where technology has advanced even more and space travel is possible.

How do you start a conversation?

I can answer this one. You don’t. Next question.

Any secrets you’ve been hiding until now?

I’m actually a millionaire with an island, but the real secret within a secret is that it’s not an island but a peninsula. Please don’t leave me.

If you had one “do-over” what would it be?

I don’t really believe in do-overs. Every choice and consequence lead to where you are now.

How’d we meet?

Through a friend, and then through your clumsiness we got closer.

What is your strongest personality trait?

I’d say your determination.Yeah I would agree.

Describe what love is to you.

That’s deep. I guess it’s completely trusting and being able to rely on another person. Being comfortable with that person in almost every aspect of life, and adapting and growing as a couple as life unfolds.

How do you want to be remembered?

As the big cheese. No don’t write that. (I did.) I don’t know. As long as I’m remembered I think that’s pretty good.

Any final remarks?

Nope. (You’re lame. Way to give me nothing to work with. Sigh.)

5 thoughts on “Get to know HB: an interview

Leave a Reply

