Things I’ve realized as I’ve grown older…but not that much older since I’m only 24, almost 25.

  • If your friends and family say you shouldn’t be with your significant other and have legitimate reasons to not like them they’re usually right.
    • Of course there are exceptions where your parents or friends just hate the person and don’t want you with them (and that makes them assholes), but if they can provide actual reasons as to why y’all aren’t a good fit then maybe you should listen and take that into consideration. I know you’re thinking to yourself, “but Brittany I love them. My loved ones should just accept our love and move on.” Just wait a minute. I’ve been there. My loved ones didn’t dislike my ex (they do now, but that’s not the point) they just realized–way, way before I did–that we really weren’t all that great together. I’m not saying immediately break up with your S.O. Not at all. Just listen to what they say and think on it. And definitely, DEFINITELY, don’t cut them out of your life. They loved you before this new person, they’ll love you during, and they’ll love you after (if there is an after).
  • There will always be people that say “just wait until you get to my age, and you’ll realize how wrong you are.”
    • You know in some cases they may be right. I may reach 40, 50, 60, whatever age and my entire belief system may change. These people are usually the ones that have completely, sometimes radically, different views from you. The reality is your views will definitely change as you age and experience more, but at the same time they probably won’t do a complete 180. Some people might, sure, but it’s doubtful for the majority of the population. A lot of people say things like this during a disagreement based on your beliefs. Honestly, it’s best to just ignore it and laugh it off.
  • You’re always going to be looking for an “adultier adult”
    • No one knows how to properly adult. We always look to someone older than us to see how they managed to survive a certain situation. Spoiler alert: they winged it and also asked an “adultier adult”. No one really knows what they’re doing.
  • As you age you start reverting into a teenager
    • Okay, this one is kind of a joke, but also not. Some of the things older people complain that teenagers and young adults are doing are things they’re doing just as much. Every time I hear “ugh, kids these days are always on their phones.” I look around and notice a room full of tech-savvy grey-hairs playing bejeweled on their phones or messaging Martha about their tomatoes on Facebook messenger. I see you over there, Barbara, watering your crops on the latest farming app while shaming me for supposedly texting someone while at the table with my husband. I might be looking up information relevant to our conversation, or I might be messaging my sister-in-law that lives in Germany. You don’t know, so shush and go back to tending your virtual farm.
  • The older generations will always complain about the younger ones.
    • It’s happening to our generation (“Kids these days don’t know how to socialize. They’re always on their phones”). It happened to our parents (“MTV is rotting their brains”). It happens to every generation. I can hear cave-parents now muttering about how easy their children have it now that they’ve discovered fire. It’s just the nature of things. Change is difficult to understand, especially when it comes from your children.
  • Individuals are, typically, good. Large groups not so much.
    • This is something that you really notice while you travel. People worry about going to certain countries because of their governments ideologies, but once you’re there you soon realize that the vast majorities of people you meet are incredibly kind, willing to help, and curious. As always, exceptions apply.
  • “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindednes, and man of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, Wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one’s lifetime.”-Mark Twain
    • I truly believe Mr. Samuel Langhorne Clemens, a.k.a. Mark Twain, knew what he was talking about here. The more I travel the more interested I am in others. In their views and their cultures. I find it easier and easier to drop my fears of cultures I don’t know or understand and seek out answers rather than react with hostility.

  • Take every moment to be kind to people.
    • The world is not always the friendliest of places, and we get caught up in our lives and don’t take the time to be genuinely kind to people. Slow down, and take a moment to be nice to people. It costs you nothing, and it can be the single event that turns someone’s day around.
One thought on “Things I’ve realized as I’ve grown older…but not that much older since I’m only 24, almost 25.

Leave a Reply

