Wedding: the Sequel

We’re quickly nearing our one year anniversary for our official, U.S. wedding; however, we still needed to have a second ceremony for HB’s family. You can’t do for one and not for the other, you know? So how’d we go about it?

Well, for starters, you need to get an Apostille if you’re planning on “getting married” in Germany after your U.S. wedding. In Germany everyone has to have a “court house” wedding, meaning you go to a government official, they marry you, and then you are officially (legally) married. Then you’re allowed to have a larger wedding in your religious building of choice, or not. [That’s the bare bones of it. I didn’t do it, so I can’t really give a more detailed description with the correct terms.] Since HB and I were legally married int he U.S., which is much easier from what it seems, we bypassed the first step. All we needed was an Apostille to prove our marriage license was completely official. It cost me three dollars, which I of course paid in change after having to drive two and a half hours just to get it. I showed up at the State of Georgia probate court in Atlanta, asked for an Apostille for Germany, and in five minutes I was out the door.

I’m not sure if it’s just Georgia, but both my marriage license AND the Apostille look so unbelievably unofficial. Even the German officials were a little wary of them. Seriously, they look like I made them myself.

As for planning, we didn’t really do all that much. We picked out our candle, the cards, food, aaand that’s about it. HB’s sister, best friend, aunts, and mom did pretty much everything. I am so thankful for them. HB and I pretty much showed up, helped set up dipped out early to meet up with the pastor, and then helped to clean up after the festivities (okay I got a little drunk off four glasses of wine so I stood around laughing with HB’s cousin and a friend, so I wasn’t much help during clean-up). That’s it. Bless HB’s family.

The ceremony was a mix between English and German so my parents and brother could understand what was going on, plus HB’s sister sat by them so she could translate as well. While I am not religious, HB is, so we opted to have our wedding in a church. The church his grandparents go to, and his parents were married in. How could I say no?

Halfway through the reception I had to change out of my wedding dress. At the beginning of the day the dress was comfortable, but after wearing it all day the boning finally started to rub some sores. I, of course, didn’t think about that so I ended up wearing jeans and a Star Wars t-shirt. Super classy, but you’ve gotta do what you’ve gotta do to be comfortable.

All in all, I’m glad we had this wedding. It was so nice to be able to celebrate our marriage with both of our families. It was stressful, but worth it.

[Side note: I currently do not have any reception pictures. We’re working on getting them, but until then enjoy what we’ve got, which is not much.]

 

Leave a Reply

