I’m trying out this minimalism thing

I am a pack rat. Not necessarily because I like to keep a lot of stuff, but because I’m lazy, sentimental, and occasionally guilty. I’ll leave tags from new clothes laying around instead of throwing them away, or I’ll refuse to donate or sell something that has been in my closet for months (occasionally years) without wearing it, because I feel guilty. Something has got to change, so I’ve decided to end my pack rat tendencies. How so? I’m attempting to become a minimalist.

I had almost no idea where to start. I’m still pretty lost, honestly. I love stuff. I also really like to shop. I started by watching YouTube videos on minimalism and decluttering. Almost all of them mentioned a book called The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo. Naturally I bought the book. I mean if everyone you’re currently idolizing is singing her praises you might as well give her a chance.

The premise of the book is that you should systematically go through all of your belongings, pile everything (of the category you’re working on at the moment) up where you can see it all touch everything, and if the item doesn’t bring you happiness lose it. It sounds easy. Too easy. All of the YouTubers and the author made it seem like you would be overcome with a sense of joy when holding your most prized possessions, but so far that hasn’t been the case for me. So far I’ve only gone through my clothes, and there has been the occasional item that made me feel a spark of happiness, but other than that I haven’t really felt a whole lot. That being said, I have gotten rid of six bags of clothes and counting. I have no idea if I’m doing this whole thing correctly, but I’ve got to start somewhere. We own too much stuff. A lot of it just sits around and never sees the light of day. Why keep it then?

Basically, I want to simplify my life. I love my stuff (I’m a bit materialistic, I admit it), but none of that stuff brings me true joy. It takes up space in an already crowded house. That, and if we’re moving in a year or so we can’t take it all with us. Nor would we want to. So here’s to hoping I can stick with this minimalism thing, and can sing its praises (or at least talk about it) in a future post.

Leave a Reply

