On leaving

For our second wedding ceremony we were asked to pick a bible verse to be read aloud. After searching HB settled on one I’d found. Afterall, the religious one should probably be the one that picks which bible verse to use. It reads:

Dont urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people, and your God my God. (Ruth 1:16, I believe)

I have been thinking quite a lot about this verse, and how fitting it is for us, and how sad it is as well. Leaving is always difficult. It doesn’t matter if it’s for a few days, graduating university and leaving friends behind, or moving to another country. All leaving is hard. 

Some of my once closest friends are now spread all over the country, and, in a few cases, the world. We touch base from time to time, but ultimately we almost never speak to one another. These pepole were there for key moments in my life, and I their’s, I hope. The harsh reality is that I will most likely never actually see these people again. Yes, there’s social media, but thats not the same thing. And yet, I’m okay with this fact. It hurts to lose touch with people, and moving exacerbates this. So why do we do it?

This is something that I think my family, and many others, want to know the answer to. Why leave what you know? Why leave what is safe and comfortable for something terrifyingly unknown? Doesn’t that terrify you? It scares the ever living daylights out if me.

Moving to college scared me. Moving in with my boyfriend, now husband, scared me. Moving to Columbus, Ga scared me. And why wouldn’t it? It’s something new. Like I said earlier, new is scary. But what is more powerful than the scary parts is the potential for growth and adventure.

HB and I have chosen to attach ourselves to one another. Where one of us goes the other will follow. Part of me doesn’t want to leave what I know. I don’t want to have to start over from scratch. I don’t want to learn a new language and a new way of life, because it’s hard and intimidating. But all of that pales in comparison to the sense of adventure. 

There’s no one answer for why we leave. Each person has different driving forces, and there’s rarely a single driving force. So why do I want to leave? Love, adventure, and a desire to experience a new way of life just to name a few. 

Leave a Reply

